HYC Update!

I’m down about 1/2 pound this week. That isn’t really anything to get excited about because of all of the fluctuating my weight has been doing in the last 3 months or so. Basically it’s up a pound and then down a pound. If I was sure that the plateau had been broken then I would definitely be excited!

Today is a run/walk day. Because I skipped a run this past weekend I’ll be doing 5 min. run/1 min. walk today instead of 8 min. run/3 min. walk. The weather has been so cold and windy here since late last week that it’s not a whole lot of fun to be outside. At the same time, I get really bored with running for an hour on the treadmill so my plan is to be outside today.

I’ve been very happy with the quality of food I’ve been eating. By that I just mean, virtually no junk food and lots of good whole foods. I have been loving Costco lately. They are really increasing the number of Organic foods that you can buy there. Yesterday I saw three different varieties of organic apples for the same price as non-organic apples. It seems every time I go there I find a new organic product that I didn’t realize they carry. I love that!

Another new item I bought at Costco yesterday was fresh butternut squash chunks (unfortunately not organic). I have really been craving homemade butternut squash soup so today I plan to make some for dinner. Since the squash is already in chunks, it should be so much easier to make the soup! There are so many different spice combos out there for this type of soup so I am having a hard time deciding which one to try first! Curried soup sounds delish!

My workout plans this week include 3 strength training sessions with my trainer and 3 run/walks. I’ll try to fit in some walking on the days I don’t do the run/walks.

I think the cold season has caught up to me. Half of the people at work are sick and now I think I’m sick too. I’ve been sneezing nearly nonstop. Seems all of the vitamins I’ve been taking didn’t prevent the cold. After I conquer this cold I’m going to get a flu shot. I don’t want to get the flu this year.

7 thoughts on “HYC Update!

  1. Just keep going…….you will break that “plateau” soon, trust me!!! You might want to try and up your cardio a bit….either run longer or faster, that always helps get over a plateau!!! =)

    P.S. I swear everywhere I go I hear about people being sick, it sure is bad this year, I even had it a few weeks ago it was horrible. =(

  2. I am going for a run/walk outside here in a few minutes. Enjoy the sunshine!

    Keep pushing through and doing the work and the scale will move soon. I am used to it going up and down but this time I am in a longer stall than normal. I just keep pushing and figure it has to bust sometime!

  3. Same price for organic apples? That is a deal!
    I get so excited when I find them at the farmer’s market because I can usually buy 3lbs for about the price I’d pay for 1lb at Whole Foods.

    Running outside has to beat the teadmill for the scenery changes alone. Hopefully your weather will cooperate for a little while longer & you can enjoy it.
    I’m planning to take the kids out for a walk today for the same reason – it will be cold/rainy before we know it!

    Have a great week!
    Lynn

  4. I am not a fan of plateaus; the best thing you can do is be patient and keep up the exercise and healthy eating. The scale will move eventually. I read somewhere recently that cardio exercise helps to keep away colds and viruses. Hopefully that will be the case for both of us!

Leave a Reply

