More About Me

Laura asked some really great questions in the comments on my last post so I thought I’d answer them here. 

1)  How many times a week do you work out (run, etc.) and for how long?

I strength train with a trainer 3 days a week for 45-60 min. We do a few cardio intervals as well. I was training 5 days a week with 2 days of HIT training but my schedule changed so now it’s just the 3 days of strength training. To replace the HIT training, I have started a run/walk program recently where I run/walk 3 times a week for 30-60 min. My ultimate goal is to be able to run 30-60 min. I’m definitely improving.  On the days I don’t run/walk I walk for at least 30 min. (Usually about 2 miles). I exercise every day at least once.

2) What kind of diet are you eating? Are pretty mindful of what you are eating? No hidden calories (even from yourself)?

 I am a fairly clean eater. My trainer wants me to eat only oatmeal, protein shakes, chicken breast, fish, brown rice, sweet potatoes and vegetables. Unfortunately, that’s too darn boring for me! I need more variety in my life. Not to mention, I love fruit.

My favorite breakfast is Kashi Go Lean Crunch with 1% or nonfat milk. Some days I eat oatmeal with a scoop of whey powder or an egg white omelet with veggies. For lunch I have salad (with no dressing), chicken or fish. For my carbs I eat brown rice (1/2 cup) or a whole grain pita, wrap  or piece of bread. I don’t eat white bread at all any more. (I guess I did have a Parker House roll earlier this month :)) I probably don’t eat enough fruit and veggies every day but I am working on that.

Now, I am not saying that I am perfect, by any means. I had a hamburger a few weeks ago. And I am embarrassed to admit that I had a Costco dog today. I know, I know… horrible! I was starving and made the mistake of going there hungry.

I love tall, nonfat mochas, no whip. I have one nearly every day. That’s next on my list of habits to kick. They have 180 calories, 32 g. carbs, 2 g. fat and 11 g. protein. The sugar in it is the killer. I hate drinking my calories! I drink lots of water every day (more than 64 ounces per day).

I do write down everything I eat in my food log. On average I eat 1400-1600 calories per day.

Thanks again for the support and the great questions!

2 thoughts on “More About Me

  1. Hey, thank you for putting me in your post! 1st time for me. =)

    GREAT ANSWERS!!!

    It sounds like you are “right on track” to me……..great workout schedule. I truly believe a balance between weights (machines or free) and cardio is important. I started just like you in the “running” department. Despite being a running in my younger years I was off for almost 10+ years and had to start all over again….it took a good year to build back up to where I am today 30-60+ minutes of straight no stop running. You can do it too!!!

    As for your “diet”……it sounds right on point as well, however I do have a few suggestions that worked for me:

    *1st your trainer’s diet is good, but I disagree with it being so STRICT…….you are bound to want to venture away or cheat from it since it is so STRICT. I know this from experience believe me. I think you should take his diet and modify it…….add a little fat (like in salad dressings, not much just a little, it won’t hurt believe me I hate FULL FAT DRESSINGS during my entire 100 pound weight loss journey) and also………PLEASE do eat as many fruits & veggies as you like!!! I always did that and still lost weight! I found that “fruits” were a life saver for me when I was craving sweets and no matter who says what they are always better to eat then Processed Sugar Items.

    *I basically followed a modifed Atkins diet while I was losing my 100 pounds……I did Atkins but also at fruits, veggies & whole-grains! I ate lean meats and limited the fatty meats too, unlike Atkins suggestion. This worked well for me as I never really felt deprived.

    *Last but not least………I cheated all the time, so don’t feel bad, it is only human nature to want to eat the good stuff (hamburgers, hot dogs, cake, icecream, etc.)! It took me awhile to learn to just not do it “so often” and in “moderation”, which is what I still do today.

    Sorry for such a lost “comment”!

    Keep up the good work!

    =) Laura

    http://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, Laura. I really appreciate it. I am so impressed that you lost 100 pounds. Good for you! When I started on my weight loss journey, I only needed to lose about 20 pounds. I know that isn’t a lot but I carry ALL of my weight in my stomach which is the worst place to carry weight. My BMI was considered to be at the high end of normal for my height but my body fat was way too high because of my stomach. I really just want to be stronger and healthier. Every day that I work out I feel great after the workout. Some days it’s hard to get motivated to work out though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

