Healthy You Challenge Check In

So, the scale says I’m up a pound this week. Good grief. I have to say this whole thing is so frustrating. I’ve been exercising daily and eating well. Basically, I haven’t lost a pound in two months. Well, actually, I’ve fluctuated up and down one pound for the last two months so the net effect is no weight loss.

I love the muscles I’m getting but aren’t they supposed to burn fat and make it easier to lose weight? That’s so not happening. I’m at the point where I think I need to see a doctor for a physical (hypothyroidism runs in the family) or see a nutritionist (maybe I’m not eating enough?). In any case, I’m not ready to give up. I keep picturing myself ballooning up if I quit working out and exercising. Not a pretty picture!

Today’s a running day. I plan to make my second attempt at run 5 min./walk 3 min. I’m going to change my route to a flatter one. I think the big hill at the beginning of my last attempt killed me.

Good luck to all of the HYCers!

6 thoughts on “Healthy You Challenge Check In

  1. When I first started running, I wasn’t losing weight either until I cut my calories to 1200-1300 a day. I had lost weight previously on 1600 calories but it just wasn’t cutting it for me anymore. But I would second seeing a doctor to rule anything out, especially since hypothyroidism runs in your family!

    Good luck! I’ve lost 50 lbs from running so I’m a huge fan of it. 🙂

  2. Sorry, I just found your blog….so I am unsure on the questions I am going to ask below:

    1) How many times a week do you work out (run, etc.) and for how long?

    2) What kind of diet are you eating? Are pretty mindful of what you are eating? No hidden calories (even from yourself)?

    Often times through my Weight Loss Journey I had weeks or months just like you are experiencing now and found that it mainly had to do with my “diet” not being on point and sometimes my “work outs” too.

    =) Laura

    http://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/

  3. Don’t give up on the muscles!!!! Sometimes they cause an initial gain but the benefits and long term changes are worth it. I read your “about me” page and wanted to cheer you on. We gotta be all we can be for our daughters. 😀

    It can get frustrating when you get in a stall with the loss but keep on exercising and making healthy lifestyle choices. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

